Sharing Processes and Experiments

Different organizations have different preferences for controlling who is able view or edit which data. For example, some organizations might subscribe to a philosophy of "radical transparency" and invite everyone to join the same Governance Team. Other organizations may be contractually obligated to prevent two teams from sharing Experiments even when they are operating the same Process.

The access levels associated with Riffyn’s Admin, Designer, Operator and Viewer roles are specified in detail here.

Sharing Processes

The only users who can see the Processes by default are Org Admins and the members of any Governance Teams they have created. Although Org Admins cannot immediately edit new Process, they are entrusted with the ability to share a Processes with any other user at any access level. The members of the Governance Teams are granted either Viewer or Admin access to Processes, depending on the access levels attributed to the Governance Teams themselves.

Other users can be granted access to a Process by inviting them to collaborate as either Viewer, Operator, Designer or Admin. The “Add/View Collaborators” modal can be opened any of three different ways:

1) Select Share from the Design menu when viewing a Process:

 

2) When in Design Mode, click on a role at the top right corner of the browser (i.e., click on the word “Admin” in this example):

3) After selecting one or more Processes in the Process Library, either click the ellipse on the right of the process or right-click on any of the selected processes. Then select Share from the corresponding menu icon:

 

In the Add/View Collaborators modal, the box next to “Share ALL experiments I have access to on this process.” is selected by default:

If a user (even an Admin on the Process) does not have access to some experiments, (see below, “Sharing Experiments”), they will not be able to give anyone else access to those experiments. A user can never grant another user a higher level of access to an experiment that they have themselves.

Please note that the "Share ALL..." selection applies only to experiments that already exist at the moment when the Process is shared. At the time of this writing, future Experiments are not necessarily shared with anyone beyond Org Admins and Governance Teams unless they are explicitly shared according to one of the mechanisms described below under “Sharing Experiments.”

The “Add/View Collaborators” modal also gives Admins the option to tag their Processes as Public. Once your Process is tagged as a Public Process, all present and future users working within the same Riffyn environment (e.g., app.riffyn.com) – even users who belong to different Organizations than your own – are granted the ability to view, copy or link to it. If appropriate, please ask permission from your Organization before making any particular Process Public.

Admins who click on the “Shared with…” tab of the “Add/View Collaborators” modal can additionally tag a Process as Shareable:

By default Processes are not Shareable, only Admins are permitted to share them and duplicate them. Once a Process has been tagged as Shareable, a user with a role can grant privileges to another user equal to or less than their own role (Designer > Operator > Viewer). A Viewer who duplicates a Shareable process becomes an Admin on the copy they has made for himself.

 

Sharing Experiments

By default, new experiments are shared with all other users of the process per the checkbox when creating a new experiment.

Screen_Shot_2017-07-03_at_8.58.40_AM.png

To share a specific experiment who does not have access to the process, share the specific experiment when opened in Measure Mode. Sharing a specific experiment with the new collaborator as Admin, Designer or Operator will grant that user operator access to the process in Design Mode.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request